Gideon Levy im Gespräch: „It took me a long time to see that these were not exceptions“

[Noch für das alte Blog geschrieben – wegen technischer Probleme aber erst jetzt hierher importiert:]

Auf In These Times findet sich ein sehr aufschlußreiches und lesenswertes Interview mit Gideon Levy. Viel Autobiographisches, zahlreiche Einblicke und recht ernüchternde Einschätzungen Über seine persönliche Entwicklung im Hinblick auf die Wahrnehmung der israelischen Besatzung in der Westbank heisst es in besagtem Gespräch:

You’ve said that as an adolescent you were part of Israel’s “nationalistic religious orgy.” What did you mean?

I grew up in Tel Aviv. I was a product of the Israeli education system and the Israeli media. I was 14 when the Six-Day War broke out. Israel went through what I would call a nationalistic tsunami. I was part of it. Everyone was part of it. My parents were part of it. They were not very political. They supported the Labor Party. Everyone supported Labor in those days.

What were your views then on the Palestinians and the occupation?

I went with [my] parents on a tour of the West Bank after the Six-Day War, and had no memory of seeing any Palestinians. They were there, but we didn’t see them. We saw only their white sheets hanging from balconies. The Palestinians themselves were nonentities. It was not even about having an attitude or an opinion. They didn’t exist.

How did you get from there to where you are now: a journalist famous for ferociously speaking out for Palestinian human rights and a Palestinian state totally free of Israeli occupation?

It was a gradual process. There was no single incident involved. I didn’t suddenly see the light. When I first started covering the West Bank for Haaretz, I was young and brainwashed. My “journalism school” was the Israeli Army Radio Station, which was not the kind of place to learn the truth about the occupation. I would see settlers cutting down olive trees and soldiers mistreating Palestinian women at the checkpoints, and I would think, “These are exceptions, not part of government policy.” It took me a long time to see that these were not exceptions—they were the substance of government policy. I had failed to make that connection.

Die letzte Passage lässt mich an meinen ersten Besuch Jerusalems Mitte der 1990er Jahre denken. Ich war voll auf Droge und von Israel total berauscht. Der Anblick der Klagemauer verschlug mir die Stimme, das Wandeln durch die engen Gassen des jüdischen Viertels der Altstadt beglückte mich und streichelte meine romantisch verseuchte Seele. Ich hielt mich auch in anderen Teilen der Altstadt auf, in der Nähe des Jaffa-Tores, wo ich mich von den Suq-Händlern belästigt fühlte („My German friend! I make a special price for you!“). Auf dem Lebensmittelmarkt am Damaskus-Tor sah ich, wie eine Gruppe israelischer Uniformierter einen palästinensischen Jugendlichen nach allen Regeln der Kunst in die Magel nahm und zusammenschlug. Das alles passierte in einer Seitenstraße einer Seitenstraße einer Seitenstraße. Reiner Zufall, dass ich in der Nähe war. Ich war verstört und betroffen. Gut, dass ich nur kurz später eine Kritzelei an der Wand sah: Davidstern und Hakenkreuz durch ein Gleichheitszeichen verbunden. Nun war ich so richtig empört – und froh: Mein eigenes Weltbild wieder in Ordnung.

Kommentar verfassen

